JNU Polls: Left alliance sweeps all 4 seats; BAPSA emerges as the single largest party

The United left panel of AISA-SFI clean sweeps on Saturday by winning all four central panel seats for the post of President, Vice President, General Secretary, and the Joint Secretary in the Jawaharlal Nehru University Students’ Union (JNUSU) elections which was held on Friday.
The newly founded Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students Association (BAPSA) got huge support and managed to get second spot for the presidential post.The BJP-backed Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) stood third and the Congress-backed National Students Union of India (NSUI) stood last.
Mohit K Pandey of AISA-SFI defeated Rahul Sonpimple for the presidential post,Amal Pullarkkat elected as the Vice President, Satarupa Chakraborty as the General Secretary and Tabrez Hasan elected as Joint Secretary by defeating Democratic Students Federation (DSF)
As reported in an English daily “A total of 5,181 votes were polled, which amounts to 59.6 per cent,” said Chief Election Commissioner. Last year, the turnout was 53.3 per cent, a marginal dip from 54.58 per cent in 2014.

Mohit (AISA-SFI) (W) – 1954
Rahul (BAPSA) – 1545
Jahnavi (ABVP) – 1048
Deelip Kumar (SFS) – 257
Sunny Dimal (NSUI) – 143

Amal PP (AISA-SFI) (W)- 2461
Ravi Ranjan (ABVP) – 1157
Banshidhar (BAPSA) – 796
NOTA – 437

General Secretary
Satarupa (AISA-SFI) (W)- 2424
P Manikanta (BAPSA) – 856
Vijay Kumar (ABVP) – 1330
NOTA – 296

Joint Secretary
Tabrez Hasan (Left Unity) (W) – 1670
Pratim Ghoshal (DSF) – 1308
Om Prakash (ABVP) – 968
A A Prajapati (BAPSA) – 608
NOTA – 272

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *