Sourabh Varma and Febby Angguni declared champions at the Tata Open India International Challenge 2013

New Delhi: The finals of Tata Open India International Challenge 2013 concluded today after five days of exciting badminton and saw player participation from Malaysia, Indonesia, Chinese Taipei, Maldives, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Bahrain, Nepal and Australia, while the largest contingent was represented by Indian shuttlers
In its commitment to promoting sports, Tata group along with Tata Capital has been holding the Tata Open tournament annually since 2008 along with the Prakash Padukone Badminton Academy (PPBA). Carrying total prize money of $15,000, the 2013 Tata Open was held at The Cricket Club of India, Mumbai
Mumbai: Even as badminton continues to gain prominence in India, the Tata Open India International Challenge 2013, which concluded here tonight, witnessed edge-of-the-seat badminton at display, with the closely fought final won by India’s Sourabh Varma who defeated compatriot H S Prannoy to become the men’s singles champion at the international ranking tournament. The women’s singles title was clinched by Indonesia’s Febby Angguni, who outsmarted her countrywoman Ana Rovita in a marathon encounter. Both finals had the audience engrossed with the gripping action and tenacity of the finalists.
Following are the results of Tata Open 2013:
Men’s singles: Sourabh Varma (IND) beat HS Prannoy (IND), 21-12, 21-9.
Women’s singles: Febby Angguni (INA) beat Ana Rovita (INA), 20-22, 21-14, 21-19.
Mixed doubles: Akshay Dewalkar and Pradnya Gadre (IND) beat Tarun Kona and Ashwini Ponnappa (IND), 21-17, 18-21, 21-18.
Women’s doubles: Pradnya Gadre and Siki Reddy N (IND) beat Jwala Gutta and Ashwini Ponnappa (IND), 21-19, 21-19.
Men’s doubles: Manu Attri and B Sumeet Reddy (IND) beat Tzu Chieh Tien and Chi-Lin Wang (TPE) 21-16, 21-13.
Thrilled at winning the coveted Tata Open India International Challenge 2013 trophy, Sourabh Varma said, “I was keen on making the most of the opportunity as this is my first finals of an international tournament in a long time. I have been learning from my earlier mistakes, which has aided my growth. I will take the confidence gained from winning here to the senior nationals where I hope to continue my winning streak.”
Expressing her delight at the achievement, Febby Angguni, champion, exulted, “I am delighted to be the champion here this year after losing in the finals last year. Ana Rovita is from my academy as well and we practice together so we know each other’s games very well. I think the difference was that I fought to the end and apart from my speed I also had luck on my side. I hope to come back next year and defend my crown.”
Speaking on the occasion, the tournament referee Chris Lawrence said, “I am very impressed by the professionalism on display, the high standards of play and the passion of the PPBA and Tata group in organising this tournament. From what I saw here, India has a very bright future in badminton and I look forward to some of these young players becoming future champions.”
The 6th edition of the Tata Open International Challenge 2013 received an inspiring response from the international badminton fraternity, and 24 shuttlers from Chinese Taipei, 21 from Malaysia and 11 from Thailand participated. On the other hand, the Indian contingent consisted of over 100 leading players.
Tata Open India International Challenge is organised under the auspices of Maharashtra Badminton Association and Badminton Association of India. The tournament is a part of the association and support of Tata group along with Tata Capital to the PPBA, who conduct the tournament. The 2013 tournament started on December 11 at The Cricket Club of India, Mumbai, on the world-class, air-conditioned courts and carried total prize money of $15,000. The Tata Open India International Challenge is a part of the Badminton World Federation’s ranking circuit that earns ranking points for players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *