DUSU Polls: Candidates filed the nominations;Check the complete list of candidates here

By:Anuradha Mishra

Are you also high on university election?

It is that time of the year again, when you see the buzz of elections in every nook and corner of the campus and colleges. The elections for the Delhi University Student Union are scheduled on 12th September, 2018 and the nominations for the same have been filed by various Student Political Parties. The following is the list of these candidates as per their college/Department/Institution, posts and parties.

File Photo
Courtesy: HT

Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) has nominated Ankit Basoya for the post of President, Sudhir for the post of Secretary, Jyoti Chaudhary for Joint Secretary – all from the Department of Buddhist Studies, and Shakti Singh from Law Centre-II for the post of Vice President.

The National Students Union of India(NSUI) has declared its panel nominated for the upcoming election as Sunny Chillar from Shivaji College for the post of President, Leena from Department of Buddhist Studies for the post of vice president and Aakash Chaudhary from Campus Law Centre, Saurabh Yadav from Motilal Nehru College for the posts of Secretary and General Secretary respectively.

This year we see a new alliance forming in campus politics as All India Students Association (AISA) and Aam Aadmi Backed Chhatra Yuva Sangharsh Samiti (CYSS) have joined hands to fight for DUSU elections wherein the posts of President – Vice President and Secretary and Joint Secretary will be contested by AISA and CYSS respectively. As per the nominations filed by both parties Abhigyan from Ramjas College is standing for the post of President, Anshika Singh from Dyal Singh College (Evening) for the post of Vice President, Chandra Mani Dev from Law Centre-II for the post of Gen. Secretary and Sunny Tanwar from PGDAV College for Joint Secretary.

SFI and AISF have also allied making a panel of Akashdeep Tripathi and Sudhanshu Bhatt (AISF candidate) from Department of Buddhist Studies for the posts of President and Secretary respt., Neelanjita Biswas from Hindu College for Vice President and Sreejith K from Zakir Hussain Delhi College for Joint Secretary.

The other candidates contesting for DUSU elections under different posts are:

Preeti Chauhan (W) from Rajdhani College for the post of President, Deepak from Satyawati College for Vice President.

Jeevitesh Saharan from Kirori Mal College (on the behalf of INSO) Mohd Asif from Zakir Hussain College (Evening), Prince Kumar from Shyam Lal College (Evening) and Tushar Yadav from the Campus Law Centre are contesting for the post of Secretary.

Hemant Kumar Dagar  from SGND Khalsa college has been nominated for Joint Secretary.

With all the nominations filed for the DUSU elections, the candidates await the day of election when finally the entire wait will be over and four among these candidates are going to hold the office of DUSU for yet another year of students union.

P.S : We as the students of Delhi University, are the flag bearers of the future of student politics and the decisions that regulate the schooling of our graduate years. The right to elect our own representative or decline them through NOTA, is a power we hold that shouldn’t be wasted and should be used judiciously. So, utilize that power and do come to vote on 12th September of DUSU elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *