The annual flower show organized by Aligarh Muslim University

Flower Show concludes

ALIGARH December 13: Pro-Vice Chnacellor of Aligarh Muslim University, Brig. S. Ahmad Ali today distributed prizes to the winners of “Chrysanthemum, Coleus and Rose Show-2015” held at the Gulistan-e-Syed. The annual flower show was organized by the Department of Land and Gardens, Aligarh Muslim University.The Running Cup for the Best exihibit of the Show and Mrs. Saleha Farooqui Running Cup for the Queen of the Show were won by S.S. Hall (Mosque) while Prof. B. A. Khan Running Cup for the best rose went to Gulistan-e-Syed.

Anshuman Bansal Running Cup for the Best Single Variety of Chrysanthemum was won by V.C. Lodge and the Mr. Tahir Hussain (Mamma) Running Cup for the Best Coleus went to P.V.C. Lodge. Mr. B.H. Hashmi Running Cup for the Best Double Chrysanthemum went to Commandant 104 RAF while Prof. Suhail Ahmad Memorial Running Cup in Rose and Chrysanthemum categories went to Gulistan-e-Syed. The Safdar Abbas (Asim) Memorial Running Cup for the Best Exhibit in Class-D went to V.G. Nursery.

Addressing on the occasion, Brig. Ali said that the sanitation and greenery in the University campus attracts the visitors most. He said that the University has increased the prize money five times to encourage the gardeners. He urged the individual citizens to participate in the next Flower Show which is scheduled for February 2016.

Prof. Pervez Qamar Rizvi, Incharge, Department of Land and Garden said that 755 entires were made in this flower show out of which 177 entries have been selected for different prizes.AMU Registrar, Dr. Asfar Ali Khan, Finance Officer, Prof. S. M. Javed Akhtar, DSW Prof. Anis Ismail and University Engineer Prof. Anwar Khursheed were present on the occasion.This show was inagugurated by the Vice Chancellor Lt. Gen. Zameer Uddin Shah yesterday.The Pro-Vice Chancellor Brig. S. Ahmad Ali also distributed prices at the concluding ceremony of the Vijay Merchant Cricket Trophy that was played between the teams of Uttar Pradesh and Chhatisgarh after a gap of forty years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *