Parties declare candidates for Delhi University Students Union polls

Delhi University,Delhi:

  • 06-09-2014

On Friday the student parties finalized the list of contesting candidates, gearing up for Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections, which are scheduled to be held on September 12. The elections will be held for four seats — the President, Vice-President, General Secretary and Joint Secretary.

The National Students Union of India (NSUI) has named Gaurav Tushir of Motilal Nehru college as their Presidential candidate, Mona Chaudhury of Law faculty as the Vice-Presidential candidate, Amit Singh Timma of Faculty of Arts for Secretary’s seat and Abhishek Chaudhury of Faculty of Arts for the Joint Secretary’s post.

Mohit Naga from the Buddhist Studies has been declared as the Presidential candidate of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP), Parvesh Malik of Buddhist studies as the Vice-Presidential candidate,Kanika Shekhawat of the ARSD college announced for the Secretary’s seat and Ashutosh Mathur of Zakir Hussain College for the Joint Secretary’s seat.

NSUI is raising issues of right to accommodation and alleged racial discrimination against the students from North-East while ABVP is trying to encash on the scrapping of Four Year Undergraduate programme (FYUP), which was on their agenda for the last years DUSU polls.

All India Students Association (AISA) has nominated Madhurima Kundu of Hindu college, Aman Nawaz of Dayal Singh college, Aman Gautam of Sri Venketeshwara college and Vikramaditya of Buddhist studies, for the four posts. The Students’ Federation of India (SFI), Arunachal Students’ Federation (ASF) and All India Democratic Students Organisation (AIDSO) have come together this time to form an alliance called Left Students’ Front (LSF). LSF has announced  Vikram Singh, Prashant Mukherjee, Shrey and Deepak Jha for the four posts

Aditya Pandey and Shahroz of Satyavati college for the post of president and vice president respectively,Divyanshu Priyam of Hansraj college and Antriksh Rana of SGND Khalsa college have been nominated for Secretary and Joint Secretary by the Chanakya Parishad,a new student organization entered the DUSU polls contest this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *