AMU Professor honored with Yash Bharti Samman

Prof. Hakim Syed Zillur Rahman, former Dean, Faculty of Unani Medicine, Aligarh Muslim University and Founder President, Ibn Sina Academy, Aligarh has been honored with Yash Bharti Samman by State Government of Uttar Pradesh for the year 2015. The Secretary, State Culture Department, Government of Uttar Pradesh has informed Prof. Rahman in regard.

Yash Bharti Award is one of the highest state level awards, conferred for excellence in literature, fine arts, folk music, classical music and sports. It carries a cash prize of Rs 11 lakh, a citation and a shawl.

The award will be given by the Chief Minister, Shri Akhilesh Yadav on February 9, 2015 at a grand ceremony at Ram Manohar Lohia Park, Lucknow.

Prof. Rahman has earlier been bestowed with several national and state awards including Padmashri by Government of India in 2006, President of India Award for outstanding contribution to Persian Language in 1995, WHO Consultant for Bangladesh in 1996 and Honoris Causa degree by Jamia Hamdard in 2014.

Prof. Rahman’s prominent contribution is the establishment of Ibn Sina Academy of Medieval Medicine and Sciences in 2000. The library of the academy has a large collection of more than 25,000 precious and valuable books mainly on history of medieval medicine, 600 manuscripts and thousands of thematic periodicals on history of medicine. This is only library in India, which is listed in the ‘National Library of Medicine, History of Medicine Section, National Institute of Health, USA. Similarly, the museum of the academy also houses a large number of artifacts and memoirs. CNN Channel has listed the museum as one of the top 10 weirdest medical science museum on International Museum Day 2013. The Department of AYUSH, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India has provided accreditation to the Academy in 2004 and promoted it as a ‘Centre of Excellence’ in 2008. Prof. Rahman is the author of 45 books and several papers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *