Aligarh Muslim University organizes a four day workshop on ‘Gender Mainstreaming’

Centre for Women’s Studies, Aligarh Muslim University in collaboration with Rajiv Gandhi National Institute of Youth Development (Regional Centre: Chandigarh) organized a four day workshop on ‘Gender Mainstreaming’, from January 27th, 2017 to January 30th, 2017 in accordance with the Gender Champion Scheme of the University Grants Commission, under the aegis of MHRD, Government of India. About 55 students, from various faculties, participated in the 4 day long workshop. The workshop focused primarily on gender sensitization.
The convener of the program was Prof. Nighat Ahmad, Director, Centre for Women’s Studies; Dr. Salma Shaheen, Principal, Women’s Polytechnic was the co-convener; and Prof. Shehroz Alam Rizwi, Deputy Director, Centre for Women’s Studies was also the co-convener of the program. The audience applauded over the efforts of Akanksha Sharma, Training Coordinator and Hina Mishra, Facilitator of the Workshop.

Mr. Stanzin Dawa, Resource Person, RGNIYD: RC, lead the ‘Student Leadership Program’ on the concluding day, i.e. January 30th, 2017. He spoke on the pressing issues with regard to leadership giving examples of efficient leaders of the past, like Mahatma Gandhi, Sir Syed Ahmad Khan, Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan and Indira Gandhi. He stressed on the importance of vision, confidence, ability to understand, convincing power, body language and the use of three Hs, i.e. Head, Heart and Hand.

Brigadier (Retd.) Syed Ahmad Ali, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Aligarh Muslim University shared his experiences and vision towards an egalitarian society, while addressing the gathering at the valedictory function. He encouraged the female students to participate in various activities and help others too, to get education as it is the best tool to reform the society. He thanked the guests, conveners, nodal teachers, participants, and the audience.

At the valedictory function the mementos to the guests were distributed, followed by the certificates to the participants.  The vote of thanks was given by Prof. Shehroz Alam Rizwi, while it was hosted by Dr. Parveen Farooqui.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *